Cambodia Holds Fourth-Mandate Commune/Sangkat Council Election

Cambodia is holding today the Commune/Sangkat Council Election of fourth mandate in 22,148 polling stations throughout the country, from 7:00 am until 3:00 pm.

Prime Minister Samdech Akka Moha Sena Padei Techo Hun Sen, President of the ruling Cambodian People's Party (CPP), cast his vote at the Teacher Training School in Takhmao town, Kandal province.

H.E. Kem Sokha, President of the main opposition Cambodia National Rescue Party (CNRP), voted at a polling station in Chakangre Leu, Khan Meanchey, Phnom Penh.

Other top leaders such as National Assembly President Samdech Akka Moha Ponhea Chakrei Heng Samrin, CPP Honorary President; and Senate President Samdech Vibol Sena Pheakdei Say Chhum, CPP Vice President, cast their ballots in Ponhea Krek district, Thbong Khmum province, and in Sangkat Boeung Raing, Khan Daun Penh, Phnom Penh, respectively.

More than 7.8 million people have been registered for the Commune/Sangkat Council Election held under the observation of 74,670 local observers and 425 international observers.

Besides, there are 628 local journalists and 160 foreign journalists registered to cover this local election, according to the National Election Committee.

Twelve political parties � CPP, CNRP, FUNCINPEC Party, League for Democracy Party (LDP), Beehive Democratic Society Party (BDSP), Grassroots Democracy Party (GDP), Khmer National United Party (KNUP), Cambodian Nationality Party (CNP), Republican Democracy Party (RDP), Cambodian Youth Party (CYP), Khmer Power Party (KPP), and Cambodian Indigenous Democracy Party (CIDP) � compete for the 11,572 seats in 1,646 commune/Sangkat across the country.

A total of 37,530 security forces have been deployed to ensure the security and smooth process of the election.

Source: Agency Kampuchea Press