Cambodia To Hold Commune/Sangkat Council Election in Early June 2017

The Royal Government of Cambodia (RGC) this morning announced the specific date for the Commune/Sangkat Council Election of the fourth mandate.

According to the RGC’s resolution signed by Prime Minister Samdech Akka Moha Sena Padei Techo Hun Sen, the 4th Commune/Sangkat Council Election will take place on Sunday June 4, 2017.

The Office of the Council of Ministers, Ministry of Interior, Ministry of Economy and Finance, and other relevant ministries and institutions are ordered to carry out the resolution effectively.

The previous Commune/Sangkat Council Election was held on June 3, 2012 in 18,107 polling stations across the country with the participation of ten political parties. Over 60 percent of the 9,203,493 eligible voters turned out to vote.

Only seven parties won the 11,459 counselor seats in 1,633 communes/Sangkat while the ruling Cambodian People’s Party (CPP) won a landslide victory.

CPP took 8,292 seats overall, with the control of 1,592 communes/Sangkat or about 97 percent of the country’s 1,633 chief seats, followed by the Sam Rainsy Party (SRP), which took control of 22 communes/Sangkat, along with 2,155 seats, and the Human Rights Party won control of 18 commune/Sangkat with 800 seats overall.

The FUNCINPEC Party got a commune chief position and 151 seats, and the Norodom Ranariddh Party won only 52 seats, while the League for Democracy Party won 8 seats, and the Cambodian Nationality Party took 1 seat.

After the 4th Commune/Sangkat Council Election, the country will hold the 6th national election on Sunday of the 4th week of July 2018.

Source: AK