Cambodian Minister Attend the 5th Joint Committee Meeting for GMS Cross-Border Transport Facilitation Agreement

Cambodia’s Senior Minister H.E. Sun Chanthol, Minister of Public Works and Transport attended the 5th Joint Committee Meeting for the Greater Mekong Subregion Cross-Border Transport Facilitation Agreement in Chiang Mai, Thailand.

According to the Ministry of Public Works and Transport’s news release, the meeting was co-chaired by H.E. Arkhom Termpittayapaisith, Transport Minister of Thailand and Mr. Hideaki Iwasaki, Director, Transport and Communication Division, Southeast Asia Department, Asian Development Bank and attended by the GMS Transport Ministers and representatives from Cambodia, Lao PDR, Myanmar, Thailand, Vietnam, and China.

The Ministers appreciated the continued support from ADB and other development partners and requested ADB to continue to serve as the Secretariat of the Joint Committee and to coordinate and facilitate implementation of the Cross-Border Transport Facilitation Agreement (CBTA) ‘Early Harvest’ and updating process, and to mobilise support from other development partners since a long-term focus on capacity development is critical and is needed to continue ongoing and newly initiated activities.

The Ministers congratulated Cambodia and Thailand for the signature of an addendum to their MoU on the Exchange of Traffic Rights to increase the current vehicle quotas from 40 to 150, and the signature of an agreement on the construction of a new border bridge at Stung Bot-Ban Nong Ian (Cambodian-Thai border gate).

The Ministers welcomed the progress made on the facilitation of frontier formalities through implementation of full Single Stop Inspection/Single Window Inspection (SSI/SWI) at the Lao Bao – Dansavanh border crossing between Lao PDR and Vietnam and look forward to the 2017 launch of SSI/SWI at the Savannakhet – Mukdahan border crossing, and at other border crossings listed in Protocol 1 of the CBTA.

Source: Agency Kampuchea Press