Falcons subdue Pirates for first win in FilOil Cup

The Adamson University (ADU) Falcons registered their first win in the FilOil Flying V

Pre-season Premier Cup 2016 group stage after beating the Lyceum of the Philippines University (LPU) Pirates, 90-60, at the San Juan Arena on Friday.

Adamson, under the tutelage of new coach Franz Pumaren, improved its win-loss card record to 1-2 while Lyceum’s dropped to a 1-3.

Cameroonian Cherif Papi Sarr led the Falcons with 22 points and 10 blocks.

Adamson’s rookie guard Jerrick Ahanmisi initiated the attacks that allowed his team to post a 40-34 advantage midway through the game.

Defense proved to be key in ADU’s victory as they limited the Pirates to only nine points in the third canto cruising into the final period with a 25-point lead, 68-43.

The Lyceans fought hard to close the gap before the final buzzer but fell short of making a comeback.

Ahanmisi scored 13 points for ADU, including three shots from beyond the arc, while Nicholas Penaranda posted 10 points and seven rebounds.

The duo of Wilson Baltazar and Shaq Allanes led the Pirates with an output of 17 and 12 points, respectively.

Meanwhile, the San Sebastian College Recoletos (SSCR) Golden Stags behind Michael Calisaan’s 25-point performance, trounced the Emilio Aguinaldo College (EAC) General, 87-78.

Ilagan contributed 18 points and four assists for San Sebastian while teammate Alfren Gayosa ended the match with a double-double performance of 10 markers and 10 boards.

Jason David and Chester Serajosef notched eight points each while Jerick Fabian and Alvin Capobres had seven and five tallies, respectively for SSCR.

Hamadou Laminou and Sydney Onwubere finished with a combined output of 39 points and 28 rebounds for EAC.

Veteran guard Francis Munsayac posted 12 points on a 50 percent shooting performance from the field.

The win put the Stags in the middle of the pack in Group B with two wins and two losses while the Generals are yet to record a win after three games in the elimination round.

Source: Manila Time