Giron, Cusing cop gold medals in PSL 96th series opener

PROMISING tankers Roger Dante Giron of Mad Barracudas and Paula Carmela Cusing of Dili­-man Preparatory School bagged two gold medals each at the start of the 96th Philippine Swimming League (PSL) National Series Novice and Motivational Meet on Saturday at the Diliman College swimming pool in Quezon City.

Giron bested 23 other participants in the boys’ 15-over 100m Individual Medley by virtue of his impressive one-minute, 8.09-second showing then followed it up with another golden feat in the 50m butterfly with a time of 28.90 seconds.

Also sharing the spotlight was Cusing, who stamped her class in the girls’ 13-year event 100m IM (1:20.19) and 50m butterfly (34.15) in the tournament participated in more than 500 tankers from National Capital Region, Southern Tagalog Region, Western Visayas, Central Visayas and Northern Luzon.

Winning gold medals in their respective events were Joanna Amor Cervas of Aklan Swimming Team (girls’ 10-year 100m IM), Ruben White of British School Manila (boys’ 11-year 100m IM), Reina Nazareta of Aklan Swimming Team (girls’ 11-year 100m IM), Aubrey Ybanez of Cavite Sailfish (girls’ 15-over 100m IM) and Karl Kervee Pastoril of Diliman Preparatory School (boys’ 11-year 50m butterfly).

“It was a huge turnout. We’ve spotted a lot of good swimmers this edition and we’re happy that these young kids chose to continue their programs with us. We will be guiding them to achieve their best times and hopefully represent our country in international level in the future,” said PSL President Susan Papa.

Gaining gold medals in the morning session were Richelle Callera, Chelsea Denise Pastolero, Nicole Camacho, Marielle Montenegro, Renz Kenneth Santos, Sean Benjamin Gonzales, Ezekiel Oliveros, Master Charles Janda, Raniel Bautista, Sophia Manalang, Marie Andrea Hugo, Anthony Gallardo, Gabriel Reyes, Christian Kyle Santos, Alexandra Xhyriel, Baby Judy Paguraya and Alyssa Quezada.

The other gold winners were Alliah Dela Cruz, Jeanne Calayag, Elijah Lozano, Daevid Buccal, Shan Medina, Ashton Clyde Jose, Carl Parmi­sana, Janet de Alba, Melissa May Yu, Mary Raya­lene Cahiles, Kate Moscosa, Alyza Balleza, Ted Tolentino, Max Rosario, Rupert Nunez, Adam Zafaralla, Kyle Roldan, Marielle Montenegro, Kyla Laguna, Joaquin Mirasol, Coleen Dizon, Sophia Manalang and Mark Joseph Viernes.

After the tournament, PSL will select swimmers who made the qualifying mark for the SICC Invitational Swimming Championship to be held in August in Singapore and the 2016 SSC Midget Meet Swimming Competition in September also in Singapore.

PSL is a national sports swimming association for Universities and Colleges accredited by the Federation of School Sports Association of the Philippines (Fessap), internationally affiliated member of Federation of International Sports University (FISU).

Source: Manila Time