NA Endorses NEC’s New Members

The new vice president and other two new members of the National Election Committee (NEC) won the vote of confidence from the National Assembly (NA) in its plenary session held here this morning under the chairmanship of its President Samdech Akka Moha Ponhea Chakrei Heng Samrin.

All the 104 lawmakers present at the parliamentary session voted for H.E. Nuth Sokhom, former senior minister, chairman of National AIDS Authority and minister of health, to become new Vice President of NEC, and for H.E. Dim Sovannarom, former Chief of Public Affairs Section of the Extraordinary Chambers in the Courts of Cambodia, and H.E. Hel Sarath, new members of NEC.

At the same time, the NA declared the mandate validity of 16 new lawmakers to fill the remaining vacant seats from the dissolved Cambodia National Rescue Party (CNRP).

Source: Agency Kampuchea Press