NEC: Nine Political Parties Register Candidates for Local Election in June

By the evening of Mar. 3, 2017, nine political parties have registered their candidates to stand for the upcoming forth-mandate Commune/Sangkat Council Election, said the National Election Committee (NEC) in a press release made public today.

Those nine political parties are the Cambodian People’s Party (CPP), Cambodia National Rescue Party (CNRP), FUNCINPEC Party, League for Democracy Party (LDP), Beehive Democratic Society Party (BDSP), Grassroots Democracy Party (GDP), Khmer National United Party (KNUP), Cambodian Nationality Party (CNP), and Republican Democracy Party (RDP), it pointed out.

NEC also encouraged other political parties to register their eligible candidates during this registration period from Mar. 3 to 5, 2017 in the 1,646 communes and Sangkat throughout the country.

Cambodia will go to the polls to elect the commune/Sangkat councilors on June 4, 2017 and nearly eight million eligible voters have been registered by NEC.

Source: Agency Kampuchea Press