NEC Secretary General and Other 300 Officials Take Office

The secretary general of the National Election Committee (NEC) of Cambodia, along with his four deputies secretary general and other 357 officials took office in a ceremony held here on Tuesday in the presence of H.E. Sik Bunhok, NEC President.

The newly-selected NEC Secretary General is H.E. Tep Nitha, and his four Deputies Secretary General are H.E. Mao Sophearith, H.E. Som Sorida, H.E. Ny Chariya, and H.E. Mok Dara.

H.E. Sik Bunhok said the 357 officials, who were short-term contracted officials, are now recognized as civil servants.

All officials will be in charge of the voter registration by computerized system from May 1 to July 30, 2016.

NEC is composed of nine members, four of them are from the ruling Cambodian People’s Party (CPP), four others from the opposition Cambodia National Rescue Party (CNRP), and one from the civil society organization.

Source: AKP