Phnom Penh City To Absorb Nine More Neighboring Sangkat

Nine new bordering Sangkat will be included as part of Phnom Penh capital’s territory shortly because of their geographical and demographical condition evolving.

Phnom Penh municipal hall shared the announcement of the Ministry of Interior as said so during the recent meeting chaired by Phnom Penh Municipal Governor H.E. Pa Socheatvong.

The nine Sangkat covers 44 villages; however, their specific names have not been revealed yet.

Currently the capital possesses a total of 678 square kilometers of land areas. With the additional territory, Phnom Penh will have 105 Sangkat of 953 villages totally.

There are about two million permanent residents in Phnom Penh, letting alone 800,000 others who commute regularly to work in the capital from nearby provinces. Phnom Penh residents own 300,000 cars and nearly 2,000,000 motorbikes to date.

Because of its rapid growth in all sectors, the capital has gradually been expanded to meet emerging geographical and demographical shift.


Source: AKP