PM: Numbering of Political Parties Participating in Local Election Varies from One Commune/Sangkat to Another

Prime Minister Samdech Akka Moha Sena Padei Techo Hun Sen has informed the public that the each political party joining the upcoming Commune/Sangkat Council Election is numbered differently from one commune/Sangkat to another.

Addressing to the inauguration ceremony of three school buildings of Samdech Techo Hun Sen Krong Kratie High School in Kratie province this morning, the Cambodian premier called on the voters not to confuse with the numbering used in the national election in 2013, as that of each political party on ballot sheets in the upcoming local election is drawn at the communes/Sangkat themselves.

Samdech Techo Hun Sen thus appealed to all the supporters to remember well the logo of their respective satisfied parties.

Cambodia will go to the polls to elect the commune/Sangkat councilors on June 4, 2017 and nearly eight million eligible voters have been registered by the National Election Committee.

According to NEC, twelve political parties – the Cambodian People’s Party (CPP), Cambodia National Rescue Party (CNRP), FUNCINPEC Party, League for Democracy Party (LDP), Beehive Democratic Society Party (BDSP), Grassroots Democracy Party (GDP), Khmer National United Party (KNUP), Cambodian Nationality Party (CNP), Republican Democracy Party (RDP), Cambodian Youth Party (CYP), Khmer Power Party (KPP), and Cambodian Indigenous Democracy Party (CIDP) – have registered their candidates to stand for the forthcoming local election.

Source: Agency Kampuchea Press