Government Imposes Two-week Lockdown of Eight Provinces

Eight provinces, most of which border Thailand, will be under a 14-day lockdown, starting from July 29 until Aug. 12.
The measure is aimed to prevent the community spread of COVID-19 caused by Delta variant, underlined a government’s instruction issued tonight.
The lockdown provinces are advised to identify Red, Dark Yellow and Yellow zones. Red zones are areas with serious community spread of COVID-19, while Dark Yellow and Yellow zones with moderate and mild COVID-19 community spread, respectively.
According to the instruction, civil aviation activities in the lockdown areas are allowed to operate as normal, including aviation-related travel.
Both lockdown provinces and the neighbouring provinces must increase their cooperation to control the inter-provincial travel and to jointly take necessary measures to prevent the COVID-19 spread.
The Ministry of Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation is commissioned to urgently contact the Thai side for temporary border closure for all cross-border travel, except goods transport and medical emergencies, and to work with the Ministry of Labour and Vocational Training to disseminate the lockdown measure, provide necessary protection for the Cambodian migrant workers in Thailand and ask them to delay their return to Cambodia until the lockdown ends.
As of this morning, Cambodia’s COVID-19 tally rose to 75,152, of which 9,721 were imported. Delta variant has been so far detected on more than 100 people in Cambodia, most of them are Cambodian migrant workers returning from Thailand.

Source: Agence Kampuchea Press

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

For security, use of Google's reCAPTCHA service is required which is subject to the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.