5th Legislature of Senate Kicks Off

The inaugural session of the 5th legislature of the Senate, born from the election in late February, kicked off here at the Senate Palace this morning under chairmanship of His Majesty Preah Bat Samdech Preah Boromneath Norodom Sihamoni, King of Cambodia.

The historical event was attended by Cambodian leaders from the executive and legislative bodies, including Samdech Moha Rathsapheathika Thipadei Khuon Sudary, President of the National Assembly, Samdech Moha Borvor Thipadei Hun Manet, Prime Minister, Samdech Vibol Sena Pheakdei Say Chhum, President of the 4th Legislature of the Senate, as well as foreign diplomats accredited to Cambodia.

Samdech Akka Moha Sena Padei Techo Hun Sen, who will be voted in as Senate President and other newly elected senators were also present on the occasion.

Cambodia organised the 5th Senate Election on Feb. 25, 2024 with the participation of four political parties, including the Cambodian People’s Party (CPP), Khmer Will Party, FUNCINPEC Party, and National Power Party.

he result shows that the CPP won 55 of the total 58 seats, while the Khmer Will Party got the remaining three seats. The FUNCINPEC Party and the National Power Party did not get enough votes to gain a seat.

The Senate of Cambodia is composed of 62 seats, 58 of which are elected in a non-universal suffrage, two are appointed by His Majesty the King, and the other two are elected by the National Assembly.

The Senate of Cambodia was established on Mar. 25, 1999 with 61 senators. At that time, the senate members were appointed, not by election, of them 33 were from the CPP, 21 from the FUNCINPEC Party and seven from the Sam Rainsy Party.

Source: Agence Kampuchea Presse