August 7, 2022

Nearly 700 National and International Reporters Registered for 55th AMM and Related Meetings

As of July 30, a total of 675 reporters from 21 countries have registered to cover the 55th ASEAN Foreign Ministers’ Meeting (55th AMM) and Related Meetings being hosted by Cambodia from July 29 to Aug. 5, 2022 in Phnom Penh.

The figures were shared by the General Department of Information and Broadcasting of the Ministry of Information in charge of the registration, adding that of the reporters, 142 are women and 257 are foreign journalists.

According to a press release from the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation, the 55th AMM and related Meetings include the Meeting of the Southeast Asia Nuclear Weapon Free-zone (SEANWFZ) Commission, the ASEAN Foreign Ministers' Interface Meeting with ASEAN Intergovernmental Commission on Human Rights (AICHR) Representatives, the 55th ASEAN Foreign Ministers' Meeting (55th AMM), the ASEAN Post Ministerial Conferences (PMC+1) with ASEAN's Dialogue Partners, the 23rd ASEAN Plus Three (APT) Foreign Ministers' Meeting, the 12th East Asia Summit (EAS) Foreign Ministers' Meeting, and the 29th ASEAN Regional Forum (ARF).

Samdech Akka Moha Sena Padei Techo Hun Sen, Prime Minister of the Kingdom of Cambodia, will preside over the opening ceremony of the 55th AMM and receive a joint courtesy call by the Foreign Ministers and the Secretary-General of ASEAN.

On the margins of the 55th AMM, the Foreign Ministers and the Secretary-General of ASEAN will witness the signing of the Instruments of Accession to the Treaty of Amity and Cooperation in Southeast Asia (TAC) by the Kingdom of Denmark, the Hellenic Republic, the Netherland, the Sultanate of Oman, the State of Qatar and the United Arab Emirates. They will also attend the ASEAN Prize 2021 Award ceremony.

There will be three separate trilateral meetings of Cambodia, and the ASEAN Secretariat with three ASEAN Dialogue Partners, namely Norway, Türkiye and Switzerland.

Apart from the above-mentioned ASEAN Sectoral Dialogue Partners and the six countries acceding the TAC, four other countries have been invited as Guests of the Chair of ASEAN 2022, namely Papua New Guinea, Morocco, Timor-Leste and Azerbaijan.

Source: Agency Kampuchea Press