Samdech Techo Hun Sen Bids Farewell All Lawmakers

Samdech Akka Moha Sena Padei Techo Hun Sen, former Prime Minister of Cambodia, this morning bid farewell to his colleagues at the National Assembly (NA) and expressed his profound thanks to them for their support to him since 1981.

Addressing the NA’s second session of the seventh legislature here at the NA Palace on April 1, Samdech Techo Hun Sen said he will leave the NA by April 2, 2024 after his presence at the NA for more than half of his life.

Samdech Techo Hun Sen recalled that he has sat at the NA for two stages – the first one was for 12 years, from 1981 to 1993, and the second one from the inaugural session of Constitutional Assembly on June 14, 1993 to April 2, 2024. Therefore, he has been part of the NA for about 43 years, including 38 years as Prime Minister.

Samdech Techo Hun Sen thanked the National Assembly for working hard, despite some problems in establishing a new government after the National Election in 1998 and in 2003. However, a solution was found and an end to the stalemate was m
ade by amending the constitution from two-thirds to 50 plus one, he added.

Samdech Techo Hun Sen also expressed his gratitude to all generations of lawmakers who had so far helped the Royal Government.

Samdech Techo Hun Sen will leave the NA on April 2, 2024 to hold the senate presidency, after he led his ruling Cambodian People’s Party (CPP) toward a landslide victory in the recent Senate Election.

The inaugural session of the senate of the fifth legislature is scheduled to be held on April 3 at the Senate Palace in Phnom Penh, under the supreme presidency of His Majesty Preah Bat Samdech Preah Boromneath Norodom Sihamoni, King of Cambodia.

Cambodia organised the 5th Senate Election on Feb. 25, 2024 with the participation of four political parties, including the CPP, Khmer Will Party, FUNCINPEC Party, and National Power Party.

The result shows that the CPP won 55 of the total 58 seats, while the Khmer Will Party got the remaining three seats. The FUNCINPEC Party and the National Power Party did not get
enough votes to gain a seat.

The Senate of Cambodia is composed of 62 seats, 58 of which are elected in a non-universal suffrage, two are appointed by His Majesty the King, and the other two are elected by the NA.

Source: Agence Kampuchea Presse